clay of the day

archives

guestbook

profile

diaryland


2004 Claybie Awards

2003-09-29
8:39 p.m.

Us Vs. Them

I was reading this article today, and two points jumped off the page...

Actual human beings uttered these words:

"Both my daughters have said they want to be Miss America, but I tell them it's not that easy."

And these:

"I came here as a child with my grandparents, and I want my daughter to experience it."

Please. Someone please tell me women who live and breathe in the year 2003 are not encouraging this kind of objectification. Please tell me they are encouraging their daughters to read books, participate in sports and the arts and appreciate the fine humor of "Spongebob Squarepants."

I realize I am delusional, but a girl can dream, can't she?

I can say with a fair amount of certainty that the people I'm quoting actually believe the Miss America Pageant is about SCHOLARSHIP. Sha!

How do I know this? Because I WAS THERE. I was there and I saw the mess with my own two eyes behind red and lime green nerd glasses.

Another quote from the article:

"It was real easy to find the Clay Aiken fans in Boardwalk Hall.

They were casually dressed and carried no placards and wore no buttons supporting their favorite contestant."

Words cannot begin to describe how this quote is the understatement of the century. We, the Clay Aiken Contingency, stood out like friggin' sore thumbs compared to the peeps all decked out for this ridiculous event.

Perhaps this will explain:

US

THEM

US

THEM

US

THEM

US

THEM

US

THEM

US

THEM

US

THEM

I'll take my friends in their birkenstock sandals, windblown hair, tee shirts and jeans over sprayed hair, inches of makeup and too-tight overpriced prom dresses ANY DAY.

Oh, and Clay was amazing.

clay before
clay after


11 comments so far