clay of the day

archives

guestbook

profile

diaryland


2004 Claybie Awards

2003-08-03
9:51 a.m.

Par-Tay!

Thank goodness for google news search or I�d have nothing to say about my Downy Ball every day.

Keep it coming...the good, the bad and the ugly.

So this is the kind of celebrity reporting I don�t mind.

Garden City hotspot shifts into 'Idol'

Forget about any downtown "in" club - it was actually the Rein Bar & Grill, in Garden City, that was the place to be Thursday night.

That's because "American Idol 2" winner Ruben Studdard and runner-up Clay Aiken - joined by "AI" contestants Kim Caldwell, Kimberley Locke, Trenyce, Carmen Rasmusen, Rickey Smith, Charles Grigsby and Julia DeMato - were at Rein after their show at Nassau Coliseum.

The "AI" crew danced and sang for the crowd and stayed until closing time (3 a.m.). They were expected to return to Rein after Friday's show.

First of all, this reporter had the good sense not to put the story out until AFTER Friday�s show. Can you imagine the mobs of people trying to get their grubby paws on Buttercup and the other Idols if they knew about this ahead of time? I�m sure word of mouth spread like wildfire around town about Thursday�s events. But when something appears in PRINT, it takes on a life of its own. I could just see the fans driving 8-12 hours through the night to get to that fine establishment in the hopes of catching a glimpse of Clay in Real Life Action. Me, for instance.

Secondly, this reporter just states the facts, ma�am. They were partying. That�s it. This is the kind of news I like to know. I�m glad to hear these young�uns are out enjoying themselves. Who needs sleep when you�re 24 years old? For some, this is going to be their one and only chance at recognizable stardom and unlimited social opportunity, and they should BLEED THIS EXPERIENCE DRY before we see them in ten years on VH-1's �Where Are They Now? - Reality TV Contestants.� Enjoy it while it lasts, y�all. It�s pretty easy to tell which ones will have lasting power in the music industry. They�ll be opening their own NYC nightclubs before you know it.

�Course, there�s always the extra special one whose career is already skyrocketing at such a rate that he's already started his very own charitable foundation....I�m not naming names �cause I don�t want the other Idols getting jealous or anything. He knows who he is.

That�s all for today. I�m leaving soon to begin Round Two of My Life As A Clay Aiken Groupie, so I won�t be back until Tuesday. I expect I'll be on a Happy High that day, so maybe I'll have something fun to say.

clay before
clay after


6 comments so far